Pre-Season Information for All Fall Sports

Pre-Season Information for All Fall Sports

As the start of the school year and a new athletics season fast approaches, please take note of the following information regarding pre-season and schedules for the fall sports. 

Important - Medical Clearance 

All student-athletes are reminded that in order to participate in any tryout or any intercollegiate contest, you MUST have a completed SJC athletics medical AND cleared by the Sports Medicine Office.

Please visit the SJC Sports Medicine website for more information or contact Head Athletic Trainer Oscar Melendez at omelendez@sjcny.edu or (718) 940-5806 with any questions with how to get cleared.

 

Men's and Women's Cross Country

All interested in joining the team should contact head coach Daniel Caggiano (dcaggiano@sjcny.edu)

 

Men's Soccer

All interested in joining the team should contact head coach Ovid Cusu (ocusu@sjcny.edu).

There will be a meeting on Friday, August 19 at noon prior to the first tryout in The Hill Center third-floor conference room.

  • Tryouts: August 19, 4-6 pm, Erasmus Hall High School 
  • First game: Saturday, August 27 vs. Berkeley (scrimmage)
  • Full Schedule
 

Women's Soccer

All interested in joining the team should contact head coach Gary Lawson (glawson@sjcny.edu)

  • Tryouts/First Practice: August 23, 4-6 pm, Erasmus Hall High School 
  • First game: Thursday, August 25 vs. Monroe (scrimmage)
  • Full Schedule
 

Women's Tennis

All interested in joining the team should contact associate athletic director Alex Winnicker (awinnicker@sjcny.edu)

  • First match: Tuesday, September 6 at Rutgers-Newark
  • Full Schedule
 

Women's Volleyball

All interested in joining the team should contact head coach Kathleen O'Neill (koneill2@sjcny.edu)

  • Tryouts: Wednesday, August 24, 12-2 pm, The Hill Center
  • First game: Tuesday, September 6 at William Paterson
  • Full Schedule