O’Donnell Receives All-Met Second Team Recognition

O’Donnell Receives All-Met Second Team Recognition

BROOKLYN, N.Y. — The Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association (MBWA) has named St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) sophomore Kelly O'Donnell (Brooklyn, N.Y./St. Edmund Prep) to the All-Met Division III Second Team.

O'Donnell and the All-Met honorees from all three divisions will be honored on Tuesday, April 30, at the 86th NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards Dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

The sophomore who shared the Skyline Conference lead in points scored, adds to her First Team All-Skyline Conference and Second Team D3hoops.com All-Region honors collected this season and becomes the first Bear in program history to receive MBWA recognition.

O'Donnell averaged 18.5 points per game to pace a Bears offense that finished 30th in Division III in scoring average. She helped lead St. Joseph's to a 16-10 mark overall and 12-6 in league play, the Bears best season since joining the Skyline and culminating in the first home playoff game in school history.

The 5-foot-10 Brooklyn native was one of six players in the league to average a double-double finishing 14 games with 20-or-more points and placed in the top 10 in the Skyline nearly every offensive category — points (18.5, #2), rebounds (10.7 rpg, #7), steals (2.1 spg, #8), assists (3.0 apg, #12), and blocks (1.3 bpg, #8).

Tied for fourth in the league with 14 double-doubles, O'Donnell recorded the first triple-double in program history with 29 points, 14 rebounds, and 10 assists in a win over Sarah Lawrence. She also recorded a rare points-steal double-double with 22 points and 10 steals—matching her single-game record—in a win over Mount Saint Vincent.

Currently averaging 18.2 points through her first two seasons, she's on pace to become the fastest Bear to reach the 1,000-point scoring mark needing just 54 more points to reach the milestone.


# # #

2018-19 Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Division III All-Met Team

First Team

Jade Aponte Hunter 5-5 Sr. G Baldwin, NY
Kayla Cleare Mount St Mary 6-0 Sr. F W. Hempstead, NY
Marajiah Bacon New Jersey City 5-3 Sr. G Neptune, NJ
Janean Cuffee NYU 5-5 So. G New York, NY
Faith Ashby Rutgers-Newark 5-6 Sr. G Teaneck, NJ
Sophie Nick Vassar 6-1 Jr. F Denver, CO

Second Team    

Anna Toke Stevens 6-0 Gr. C Lincoln Park, NJ
Chanel Jemmott Brooklyn 5-9 So. F Brooklyn, NY
Shannon McCoy Kean 5-9 Fr. G Barnegat, NJ
Lauren Hunter USMMA 5-11 Fr. F/C Tinley Park, IL
Kelly O'Donnell St. Joseph's-Bklyn 5-10 So. G/F Brooklyn, NY
Monique Joseph Old Westbury 5-8 Sr. F Elmont, NY

Third Team

Alex McKinnon Montclair St. 6-1 Jr. F Fairfield, CT
Julia Ramos Drew 5-4 So G Hazlet, NJ
Kaleigh D'Arcy USMMA 6-0 Jr. G White Plains, NY
Melinda Spahiu Baruch 5-6 So. G/F Staten Island, NY
Janine Conway Hunter 5-9 Jr. G Amityville, NY
Christina Kiser Bard 5-9 Fr. G No. Providence, RI
Debra Chan CCNY 5-2 Sr. G Flushing, NY

Player of the Year: Jade Aponte, Hunter
Coach of the Year:
Matt Dempsey, U.S. Merchant Marine


MBWA Release