Sequeira, Molic and Rocha Receive All-Skyline Women’s Soccer Accolades

Sequeira, Molic and Rocha Receive All-Skyline Women’s Soccer Accolades

NEW YORK — Pacing the St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) women's soccer team to their first winning season in Skyline conference play, sophomore Deserae Sequeira (Clark, N.J./Arthur L. Johnson) was a First-Team All-Skyline selection for the second-straight season while classmates Anisah Molic (Staten Island, N.Y./Susan E. Wagner) and Rachel Rocha (Linden, N.J./Linden) earned second-team accolades, announced by the league office earlier today.

The duo of Sequeira and Molic combined for 30 goals and 21 assists over the course of the 2018 campaign in which they matched their win total from last year (eight) and finishing with their best Skyline record in program history (5-4). The Bears qualified for their second-straight Skyline Championship as a program-best fifth seed fell in the first round to Sarah Lawrence to close the season at 8-9.

Sequeira tallied 16 goals on the year which was good for third in the league and her 10 assists placed her fourth in the Skyline rankings. Last season's Rookie of the Year led the Bears with 42 points over the course of the season and her five game-winning goals ranked second in the conference. The three-time Player of the Week totaled three hat-tricks in 2018 and scored the only goal in a 1-0 league victory over Old Westbury and the game-winner in a crucial win over Mount Saint Vincent.

Molic secured her second-straight Second-Team All-Skyline selection scoring 14 goals and dishing out 11 assists in 2018. She finished right behind Sequeira at fourth in the conference in goals and her 11 assists tied with two others for first in the Skyline. Additionally, the sophomore finished the season among the nation's top-ten (ninth) in assists per game (0.69) and led the league in the category. Molic also served up multiple assists on four occasions and scored the game-winning tally in a 2-1 Skyline triumph over Purchase.

Rocha scored three goals and handed out three assists on the year while captaining the Bears defense as a defensive central midfielder. In a convincing conference victory over Yeshiva, the sophomore put up a goal and had two assists.

The three All-Skyline honorees follow up Sequeira and Molic's awards last season as the only in program history. The All-Conference teams and Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year are selected by the league's 10 head coaches.

Women's Soccer All-Conference Team Announced

# # #

2018 Skyline Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team

Christina Gagliardi, F, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Jr.; Ronkonkoma, N.Y.)
Julissa Martinez, F, Farmingdale State (Fr.; Brentwood, N.Y.)
Kiley Ritter, F, Sarah Lawrence (Fr.; Los Angeles, Calif.)
Deserae Sequeira, F, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (So.; Clark, N.J.)
Cristina Britton, M, Mount Saint Vincent (Fr.; Danbury, Conn.)
Chrissy Cannella, M, Mount Saint Mary (Jr.; Cornwall, N.Y.)
Allison Khare, M, Farmingdale State (Sr.; Deer Park, N.Y.)
Tara Lyons, M, Farmingdale State (Jr.; Wantagh, N.Y.)
Sophia Spralja, M, Sarah Lawrence (Sr.; San Clemente, Calif.)
Brittany Bornstad, B, Mount Saint Mary (So.; Linden, N.J.)
Samantha Caruso, B, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr.; Lake Grove, N.Y.)
Alyssa Gaynor, B, Farmingdale State (Sr.; E. Northport, N.Y.)
Erin Purack, B, Farmingdale State (Sr.; Farmingdale, N.Y.)
Daniella Ford, G, Farmingdale State (Jr.; Elmont, N.Y.)
Cammie Havens, G, Maritime (Sr.; Pt. Pleasant, N.Y.)

Second Team

Julia DeSantis, F, Mount Saint Mary (Fr.; Islip, N.Y.)
Tiffany McBrayer, F, Sarah Lawrence (Fr.; Miami, Fla.)
Anisah Molic, F, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (So.; Staten Island, N.Y.)
Alyssa Parrotta, F, Farmingdale State (Sr.; Centereach, N.Y.)
Brianna Williams, F, Old Westbury (Fr.; Valley Stream, N.Y.)
Carly Credidio, M, St. Joseph's-Long Island (So.; Farmingville, N.Y.)
Meagan Murdocco, M, Farmingdale State (So.; No. Babylon, N.Y.)
Rachel Rocha, M, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (So.; Linden, N.J.)
Madison Schultz, M, Mount Saint Vincent (Fr.; Temecula, Calif.)
Lauren Ashby, B, Sarah Lawrence (So.; Syracuse, N.Y.)
Grace Barry, B, Mount Saint Vincent (So.; Carmel, N.Y.)
Emma Costa, B, Mount Saint Mary (Sr.; Rocky Point, N.Y.)
Jordan Martin, B, Farmingdale State (Sr.; Lecanto, Fla.)
Juliana Cintron-Leonardo, G, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Jr.; Riverhead, N.Y.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Tara Lyons, Farmingdale State
Defensive Player of the Year: Daniella Ford, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Kiley Ritter, Sarah Lawrence
Coach of the Year: Maurizio Grillo, Sarah Lawrence (second season)