Palermo Garners All-Skyline Conference Baseball First Team Nod

Palermo Garners All-Skyline Conference Baseball First Team Nod

NEW YORK — After leading the Bears in nearly every offensive category, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) senior third baseman Anthony Palermo (Patchogue, N.Y./Sachem North) was named to the Skyline All-Conference First Team as announced by the league office earlier today.

Behind Palermo's strong hitting in the middle of the lineup, the Bears more than doubled their win total from last season, finishing 2019 with a 15-21-1 record. They put together a seven-game win streak early in the year and had a stretch winning five of six contests at the end of April. To open that stretch, the Bears downed sibling rival SJC Long Island on a go-ahead RBI from Palermo in extras snapping a seven-game skid in the all-time series.

The Patchogue native led the Bears starting in all 35 games, compiling a .339 batting average this year while finishing top 10 in the Skyline in most offensive categories. The senior tied for third in doubles (13), tied for fourth in RBI (33), tied for fifth in triples (3), was sixth in slugging (.559), tied for seventh in home runs (3), and tied for 13th in hits (43).

He had 13 multi-hit games, four-straight twice, and put together two separate hit streaks of at least six contests. Palermo shined in the win over SJC Long Island, going 2-for-5 with two RBI and he also led the Bears over Old Westbury with a 3-for-5 line and a solo homer.

Palermo is the seventh All-Skyline selection in team history and the first since 2017. The All-Conference teams and Player, Pitcher, Rookie, and Coach of the Year are voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

#SkylineBase All-Conference Team Announced

# # #

2019 Skyline Conference Baseball All-Conference Team

First Team

C - Ryan Rockhill, Maritime
1B - Vincenzo Alteri, USMMA
2B - Dylan Flynn, Purchase
SS - Mike Manetta, Old Westbury
3B - Anthony Palermo, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
OF - Jake Blinstrub, Mount Saint Vincent
OF - Jesse Reinebold, USMMA
OF - Vincent Rice, Farmingdale State
OF - Travis Zurita, Maritime
DH - Michael Grisanti, Mount Saint Vincent
UT - Jesse Nakashian, St. Joseph's-Long Island
SP - Matthew Constantine, Farmingdale State
SP - Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA
SP - Tim Woodford, St. Joseph's-Long Island
RP - Andrew Hunt, USMMA

Second Team

C - Michael Amandola, Farmingdale State
1B - John Condon, Old Westbury
2B - Matt Eng, Maritime
SS - John Santana, Mount Saint Mary
3B - Kyle Cunningham, USMMA
OF - Garrett Aichele, USMMA
OF - John Fitzgerald, Purchase
OF - Vincent Napolitano, Farmingdale State
DH - Matt Mundorf, USMMA
DH - Ryan DePalma, Farmingdale State
UT - Steven Burke, Farmingdale State
SP - Adam Heidenfelder, Old Westbury
SP - Joe Raab, USMMA
RP - Joe Sarni, Old Westbury

Player of the Year: Vincent Rice, Farmingdale State
Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA
Rookie of the Year: Michael Grisanti, Mount Saint Vincent
Coach of the Year: Keith Osik, Farmingdale State (14th season)