Driscoll Named Skyline Men's Volleyball Rookie of the Year

Driscoll Named Skyline Men's Volleyball Rookie of the Year

NEW YORK — St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) sophomore Tim Driscoll (Staten Island, N.Y./St. Peter's) was selected as the Skyline Conference Rookie of the Year and landed on the All-Conference Second Team announced by the league office today.

Driscoll becomes the first team history to receive All-Skyline year-end praise and is the third Bear student-athlete this academic year to collect Rookie of the Year honors.

Also a member of the men's basketball team, Driscoll led all Skyline rookies with team highs in kills (100), service aces (14), and points (116.5). The sophomore outside hitter recorded three double-doubles on the year, two in victories, most notably a season-high 16-kill, 10-dig effort in 3-1 win over Sarah Lawrence.

Driscoll helped the Bears (3-16, 3-7)  to a three-win improvement in Skyline play over 2017 and narrowly missed out on their first playoff appearance finishing in a program-best fifth place.  

# # #

2018 Skyline Conference Men's Volleyball All-Conference Team

First Team

Kyle Biggers, St. Joseph's-Long Island (So., MB; Holbrook, N.Y.)
Paul Curaro, St. Joseph's-Long Island (So., OH; Holbrook, N.Y.)
Logan Dickover, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., S; Las Vegas, Nev.)
Will Flohr, St. Joseph's-Long Island (So., OH; Lindenhurst, N.Y.)
Tyler Jones, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr., S; Farmingville, N.Y.)
Luke Kubisch, Purchase (Jr., MB; Delmar, N.Y.)
Neven Skoblar, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., MH; San Pedro, Calif.)

Second Team

Tim Driscoll, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (So., OH; Staten Island, N.Y.)
Derek Orenshein, Yeshiva (Fr., OPP; Los Angeles, Calif.)
Andreo Otiniano, Purchase (Sr., S/RS; Mamaroneck, N.Y.)
Chaim Aryeh Rubin, Yeshiva (Jr., OH; Skokie, Ill.)
Scott Sawyer, Mount Saint Vincent (So., MB; Marstons Mills, Mass.)
Jordan Steiger, Mount Saint Vincent (Jr., OH; Lindenhurst, N.Y.)

Player of the Year: Kyle Biggers, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Rookie of the Year: Tim Driscoll, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Coach of the Year: Bill Kropp, St. Joseph's-Long Island (second season)