Sequeira Garners All-Skyline Women's Soccer Accolades; DeRosa Named to All-Sportsmanship Team

Sequeira Garners All-Skyline Women's Soccer Accolades; DeRosa Named to All-Sportsmanship Team

NEW YORK — Recognizing a junior campaign scoring 19 goals, Deserae Sequeira (Clark, N.J./Arthur L. Johnson) was named to Skyline All-Conference Second Team and classmate Rebecca DeRosa (Ronkonkoma, N.Y./Connetquot) earned a spot on the All-Sportsmanship Team as announced by the league office earlier today.

Sequeira finished the regular season third in points (46) and tied for third in goals scored (19) to earn her third-straight All-Skyline accolade. After pouring in four goals in a season-opening victory at Gallaudet, she found the back of the net twice in their home-opening triumph over York to become the program's leading goal scorer less than two games into her junior season. Also the Bears career points record holder (145), she needs just three helpers to tie the program record for assists. Named Player of the Week once this season, the Sequeira assembled six multi-goal games and a pair of multi-assist games. 

DeRosa played in all 18 games for the Bears and finished with career-highs of four goals and 10 points. She logged a goal and an assist in the win over York and recorded her first multi-goal game with a pair of tallies and an assist in the win over Medgar Evers. She also scored the lone goal in a Skyline matchup at Sarah Lawrence.

The Bears finished their season with a 7-11 record overall and in ninth place with a 2-8 league record. 

The all-conference teams and Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year awards are voted on by the Skyline Conference's 11 head women's soccer coaches based on regular-season play.

# # # 

2019 Skyline Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team

Rebecca Colgan, So., F – Purchase
Niki Dalrymple, Fr., F – Sarah Lawrence
Christina Gagliardi, Sr., F – St. Joseph's-Long Island
Ashley Pacheco, Jr., F – Manhattanville
Sara Wright, Jr., F – Maritime
Natalie Aracena, Fr., M – Manhattanville
Chrissy Cannella, Sr., M – Mount Saint Mary
Molly Dowd, Jr., M – Farmingdale State
Tiffany McBrayer, So., M – Sarah Lawrence
Taylor Berry, Fr., B – Farmingdale State
Brittany Bornstad, Jr., B – Mount Saint Mary
Lainie Cadieux, Fr., B – Sarah Lawrence
Julia DeSantis, So., B – Mount Saint Mary
Jaclyn O'Shaughnessy, Sr., B – St. Joseph's-Long Island
Lauren Vetoulis, So., B – Mount Saint Vincent
Daniella Ford, Sr., G – Farmingdale State

Second Team

Abbey Curcio, Fr., F – St. Joseph's-Long Island
Julissa Martinez, So., F – Farmingdale State
Gina Rivera, Jr., F – Mount Saint Mary
Deserae Sequeira, Jr., F – St. Joseph's-Brooklyn 
Edasia Martinez, Sr., M – Farmingdale State
Brett Robison, Sr., M – Purchase
Alyssa Santeramo, Jr., M – Mount Saint Vincent
Haley Willibey, Fr., M – Sarah Lawrence
Grace Barry, Jr., B – Mount Saint Vincent
Meagan Murdocco, Jr., B – Farmingdale State
Natalie Pelaez, Jr., B – Manhattanville
Karissa Rutigliano, Sr., B – St. Joseph's-Long Island
Lizzie Pomaro, Fr., G – Maritime

All-Sportsmanship Team

Gabrielle Cardillo, Fr. – Farmingdale State
Steph Shalhoub, So., – Manhattanville
Erin Hartill, Fr., – Maritime
Lauren Engel, So., – Mount Saint Mary
Veronica Sevivas, So., – Mount Saint Vincent
Gabriela Castelo, Sr., – Old Westbury
Maddy Mecca, Jr., – Purchase
Lauren Ashby, Jr., – Sarah Lawrence
Rebecca DeRosa, Jr., – St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Jessica Passible, Sr., – St. Joseph's-Long Island
Basya Goldstein, Sr., – Yeshiva

Offensive Player of the Year: Christina Gagliardi, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Defensive Player of the Year: Brittany Bornstad, Mount Saint Mary
Rookie of the Year: Niki Dalrymple, Sarah Lawrence
Coach of the Year: Maurizio Grillo, Sarah Lawrence (third season)

Women's Soccer All-Conference Team Announced